Wisconsin residents convicted of drunk driving may face significant fines and time in jail. Depending on the circumstances, including the way officers administered tests, the reason they pulled you over and improperly collected evidence, the judge may dismiss your case. At Welch & Schmeiser Criminal Defense Group, we often protect clients’ rights and defend against charges of operating while intoxicated.

In addition to fines, court fees and possible jail time, all OWI convictions include license suspension or revocation for specific periods.  According to Smart Start, LLC, many alcohol-related offenses require an Ignition Interlock Device, per Wisconsin law. This applies to first-time offenders with a blood alcohol content level of at least .15 and repeat offenders.

An Occupational License from the Wisconsin DMV gives you the ability to drive to and from specific locations, such as work, school and the store. Eligibility depends on a variety of factors, including the following:

  • First OWI – Immediate eligibility
  • Repeat offenses – 45 days before becoming eligible
  • Causing injury while intoxicated – 60 days before being eligible
  • Causing great bodily harm or negligent homicide – 120 days before you are eligible

Refusing a breath test may also result in an IID installation. The device requires that you breathe into it before starting the engine. If your blood alcohol level is higher than its pre-programmed limit, the car will not start. The device works by interrupting the signal between the ignition and the starter.

An experienced attorney can help you understand your options and navigate the complex legal process. Depending on the situation, the reduction or elimination of charges is possible. Visit our webpage for more information on this topic.